Articles

Rice increases no-loan threshold to $80,000

In Rice on December 19, 2008 by David

http://www.media.rice.edu/media/NewsBot.asp?MODE=VIEW&ID=11910

Haha. I don’t know if I had any impact, but would like to think that I helped change Rice. Last year, I wrote an op-ed in the thresher (online copy here). I wrote about changes in financial aid policy at Harvard and other american universities, and what I felt Rice should do to attract more talented students.  I offered two suggestions, one of which was to increase the no-loan threshold to beyond the threshold for Dartmouth and other comparable universities, and I am pleased to say that this is finally done! :). I don’t know if my article had any role in this, after all, this is a fairly no-brainer course of action, but at the very least, I helped publicize the issue to the general Rice community.

I am glad that I am taking steps to improve Rice, my community, and the world around me.  Now, if they do my other suggestion, I would be totally happy.

Leave a Reply

