Articles

Gaaaah

In Misc. on January 10, 2009 by David

Wow. I really love reading blogs. Especially about people you don’t know, so there’s no preconceptions, no first impressions, just an amazing look at the progression of someone through life. It’s amazing what people say, how much insight you get into poeple’s lives, and how amazing and/or tragic life is.

It makes me see how amazing people are. I might not know them, but I love them. Not in a romantic or emotional sense, but just an overwhelming sense of how great people are. They make me smile. Not of a particular thing they did, but the very fact that they are. Of their being. How happy I am to see them being alive. To read about thier triumphs. To hear about thier problems. To laugh at their jokes.  Reading through the blogs, you see a sense of progression – maturation, development, and growth throughout their lives. And it’s amazing. I guess its the feeling a parent would feel towards a child, but I feel such a sense of joy seeing how there is such a world out there, of loving, feeling poeple who are growing and learning.

Recently, I have been reading blogs written by physicians. Attendings, residents, med students, all these titles that I want to have in the future. It makes me think. It puts a human perspective, from the other side of the white coat. These blogs have such interesting perspectives and reveals much more about their professions and personalities than can be obtained by a transient or even long conversation. Yet it’s tragic. To see how much sometimes the medical profession takes away. Medicine takes away so much time, time away from your kids, your wife, your parents, your siblings. Medicine changes you. Molded by the harsh hours and strigent pressures, your thoughts and habits are no longer your own. Reading this blog/article and this article, I am struck by how much medicine can/will change my habits. Doctors shoulder a heavy burden, who can’t help but be changed a little by that?

Medicine is a great committment, requiring a great passion, and withstanding much pain. I understand that. One blog states it this way. “As priorities go, I think most doctors find that the only important things are God, family, and medicine. The problems come that the order of those three is often not as clear. I know several doctors and medical students who celebrated the births of their children by taking an afternoon off.” That’s scary. I’m fluid – currently in a state of flux. (On a sidenote, I think my flexibility is one of my best characteristics). I can change, am easily molded, but do I want to be? Right now, my priorities are God, family, and career. For me, will career and medicine be synonymous? Will it be hard for me to prioritize these things in the future?

One Response to “Gaaaah”

  1. re: #15
    haha, found yer blog
    (as much as you could claim to “find” something on the publicity of fb)

    love reading strangers’ blogs too.
    sadly, dad being gone/distant for a lot of my childhood = a big reason why i don’t want to be doctor.
    interesting. keep writing(:

Leave a Reply

